National T20 CupNews

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Become National T20 Cup Champions Defeating Southern Punjab By 10 Runs

KPK’s greater firepower and experience was the ultimate difference between the two teams as they become 2020 National T20 Cup champions defeating Southern Punjab by 10 runs in a nerve-wrecking final at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium.

KPK were victorious in both the league matches against Southern Punjab and they continued on the same track in the National T20 Cup 2020 Final too. KPK looked solid right from the beginning when they were put into bat by the opposition as Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Rizwan provided them a 76-runs opening foundation. Fakhar smacked 67, Hafeez got 38, and Shoaib Malik impressed with an unbeaten 56 from just 22 balls to power KP to a massive 206 runs total in their 20 overs.

Southern Punjab did give a fight despite losing their top 3 for just 34 runs. The surge actually came from the middle order where Hussain Talat and Khushdil Shah consolidated the innings scoring 63 and 34 respectively. Unfortunate for SPNJB, only Mohammad Imran could fire 38 off 13 balls in the lower middle order and no one else could make reasonable contributions leaving them just 10 runs short of the target.

Still, it was quite a turnaround for Southern Punjab in the tournament as they first made it to the National T20 Cup Final and then put up a fine show to amuse their fans. Nevertheless, KPK are now the National Champions and will hold the title until next year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button